Resume
no image
Location: Houston, TX, USA
School: University of St. Thomas
Field of Study: Biology

Resume

Gabryella Castillo
2217 Hollister Rd.
Houston, TX 77080
------------
------------

Education
Morton Ranch High School
Katy, TX
9th

Westside High School
Houston, TX
9th (transferred after spring break), 10th, 11th

Duchesne Academy of the Sacred Heart
Houston, TX
11th (transferred October), 12th

University of Arkansas- Fort Smith
Fort Smith, AR
Completed entire freshman year of college (GPA=4.0)

University of Texas at Dallas
8/28/2018- 1/10/2019

University of St. Thomas
1/22/2019- present
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Volunteer Service

Mentor
Cedar Brook Elementary
Social Awareness
Grade 12th
8 Hours/Week

As part of the Duchesne community, I volunteered my services at Cedar Brook Elementary. I tutored third graders and two second graders. I helped them with math and science homework and classwork they were struggling with. I am bilingual, and seeing as most of these kids are Hispanic and English is their second language, I helped them with their reading and writing skills. Three out of five of the kids I tutored scored above average on their STAAR tests.

Mentor/ Supervisor
The Center for Disabled Adults
Social Awareness
Grade 11th
5 Hours/Week

As a part of the Duchesne community, we went out to different locations in small groups and offered our service in areas of need. I volunteered at The Center-Houston and acted as a mentor/ supervisor to the residents there. My duties included arts and crafts projects, feeding and cleaning up after them, as well as leading reading and writing sessions for ESL residents.

Mentor
Westside High School
Pals
Grades 10th, 11th
5 Hours/Week

I was paired up with a special needs kid and acted as a mentor, friend, or assistant to them. I would help them in their classes, walk them to class, or just be there to listen to them. Most of the time I was assisting with homework or just taking them through day-to-day activities and making sure they get to their classes.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Extracurricular Activities

Basketball
Grades 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th
15 Hours/Week

I played basketball throughout junior high and high school. Now I am a collegiate athlete.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Athletic Achievement

Basketball
Grades 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th

9th grade: Freshman of the Year; MVP. 10th grade: MVP. 11th grade:MVP;1st team all-district; 2nd team all-state; New Comer of the Year; Regional All-Tournament Team Selection; Top 3 Leading Scorer in TAPPS 5A
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Employment

Brand Ambassador
University of Texas at Dallas
Coca Cola
September 2017- 2018
Flexible schedule

I helped set up and run events for Coca Cola that are on campus. My role was to go out and promote the coke product of the month, give out free samples and host various events and locations on campus, as well as answer any questions that people may have about the product or the company.


Administrative Assistant
Tekchips Computer Consulting
2015-2017

I was an office secretary. I would send emails to clients with invoices, as well as handle day-to-day operations in terms of setting up appointments, handling incoming and outgoing shipments of parts, and take down messages. I would also make copies, fax out invoices, and print any necessary paperwork for our employees.

Babysitter
2015-Present
$15 /hour

My duties usually include homework help, making dinner, and helping with a few extra chores around the house. Bedtime of course varies with the age of the children but it is usually around 8 or 9 for most of the kids I have babysat before. I am CPR certified for all ages, and have experience babysitting ages 4 month- 11 years old.

Coach
June 2015-August 2017
$150/ mo.

I coached a junior high team for two years. My duties included scheduling and organizing practices, tournaments and fundraising events. We went on to win 3 tournaments and were back to back champions in their fall league.

Coach/ Trainer
Houston Area
A thru Z training
$125/mo.

I am a personal basketball trainer. I hold skills camps for kids of all ages, and this usually consists of a few skills drills, one on one, three on three and at the end, we have a full regulation game with referees. I also train kids individually where I teach fundamental drills, footwork, as well as overall health and nutrition. I do one on one sessions and group sessions.

Counselor
KiDVENTURE
$8.25/hr.

I worked as a summer camp counselor for three years. My co-counselor and I were responsible for 20 kids ages 4-6. I led most of the activities as well as the arts and crafts projects. I spent the entire day with the kids (9am-6pm) and we played games, did arts and crafts, and did several writing and reading exercises.

Driver
UT Dallas
August 2017- January 2019

My job was to drive a golf cart along a specific route and pick up/ drop off students who needed rides to class or other buildings and parking lots around campus.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
References Available Upon Request